## KIRKLEES METROPOLITAN COUNCIL

CTE010A

## MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET, COMMITTEES AND PANELS 2005/06

	Page
Cabinet	2
Cabinet Committee - Regeneration	3
Cabinet Committee - Policy and Resources	4
Cabinet Committee - Education and Peoples Services	5 6 7
Cabinet Committee - Neighbourhood Renewal Fund	6
Council Business Committee	7
Area Committees Advisory Committee	8
Voluntary Sector Funding Advisory Committee	9
Licensing and Safety Committee	10
Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee	11
Personnel Committee	12
Planning and Highways Committee	13
Planning Sub-Committee (Heavy Woollen Area)	14
Planning Sub-Committee (Huddersfield Area)	15
Standards Committee	16
Appeals Panel	17
Overview & Scrutiny Panels	18
Overview & Scrutiny Panel for Regeneration	18
Overview & Scrutiny Panel for Corporate Affairs	18
Overview & Scrutiny Panel for Adults and Older People	18
Overview & Scrutiny Panel for Safer, Stronger Communities	18
Overview & Scrutiny Panel for Children and Young People	18
Area Committee - Agbrigg	19
Area Committee - Batley	20
Area Committee - Dewsbury	21
Area Committee - Spen	22
Area Committee - Huddersfield North	23
Area Committee - Huddersfield South	24
Area Committee - Valleys	25
Business Managers Sub Committee	26

#### 2005/06

#### **CABINET**

Members 9

# LIB DEM (8)

\_ . . .

G Alvy P Battye

A Denham

D Hullock

A Marchington

A Pinnock

K Pinnock \*

J Smithson

\* Chair

# **GREEN PARTY (1)**

A Cooper

## **CABINET COMMITTEE - REGENERATION**

Members 4

LIB DEM (3) GREEN PARTY (1)

A Denham A C Pinnock J R Smithson \* A Cooper

\* Chair

## **CABINET COMMITTEE - POLICY AND RESOURCES**

Members 4

# LIB DEM (4)

P A Battye A C G Marchington K Pinnock \* J R Smithson

\* Chair

## **CABINET COMMITTEE - EDUCATION AND PEOPLE SERVICES**

Members 4

LIB DEM (3) GREEN PARTY (1)

G Alvy \* A Cooper D Hullock

K Pinnock

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

## **CABINET COMMITTEE - NEIGHBOURHOOD RENEWAL FUND**

Members 4

LIB DEM (3) **GREEN PARTY (1)** 

P A Battye A C G Marchington K Pinnock A Cooper

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

## **COUNCIL BUSINESS COMMITTEE**

Members 13 (plus the Chair of Scrutiny) plus Mayor and Deputy (Ex Officio)

LIB DEM (4)	CONSERVATIVE (4)	LABOUR (4)	GREEN PARTY (1)
P Battye	K Iqbal	J Calvert	J Stewart Turner
A Marchington	R Light	E Firth	
K Pinnock	M Hemingway	M Khan	
J Smithson	K Sims	K Smith	

A Palfreeman - Chair of Overview and Scrutiny\*

Ex-Officio - The Mayor and Deputy Mayor

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### AREA COMMITTEES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Members 9 (7 drawn from Area Committee chairs + Cabinet and Scrutiny Members

S Pandor

LIB DEM (4)	CONSERVATIVE (1)	LABOUR (2)	GREEN PARTY (-)
T Aslam	C Smith	D Hillas *	

R Battye M Fearnley N Hussain

Chair to determine

## **VOLUNTARY SECTOR FUNDING ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

Members 7

LIB DEM (3) CONSERVATIVE (2) LABOUR (1) INDEPENDENT (1)

A Ellam

T Lyons

S Awan T Brice\* M Bower C Smith

R Iredale

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# LICENSING AND SAFETY COMMITTEE

LIB DEM (5)	CONSERVATIVE (5)	LABOUR (4)	GREEN PARTY (1)
R Battye M Bower C Iredale C Stanfield	T Brice J Dodds D Hall A Murphy	M Akhtar J Calvert M Harkin D Sheard *	S Fallows
L Wilkinson	D Yates	D Cilodia	

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### **OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE**

Members 4

LIB DEM (1) CONSERVATIVE (1) LABOUR (1) GREEN PARTY (1)

R Iredale A Palfreeman \* J Calvert J Stewart Turner

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### **PERSONNEL COMMITTEE**

Members 9

LIB DEM (8)

**GREEN PARTY (1)** 

A Cooper

G Alvy P Battye

A Denham

D Hullock

A Marchington

A Pinnock K Pinnock \*

J Smithson

\* Chair

## **PLANNING AND HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE**

LIB DEM (6)	CONSERVATIVE (5)	LABOUR (4)	BNP (1)
K Hussain C Iredale K Oldroyd A Raistrick C Stanfield T Woodhead	M Bolt D Firth K Iqbal A Murphy K Sims *	H Mayet S Pandor A Smith M Walton	D Exley

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HEAVY WOOLLEN AREA)

LIB DEM (5)	CONSERVATIVE (6)	LABOUR (4)
G Alvy	K Iqbal	P Kane*
K Hussain	A Murphy	H Mayet
K Oldroyd	J Scott	S Pandor
A Pinnock	K Taylor	D Sheard
A Raistrick	E Ward	
	D Yates	

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HUDDERSFIELD AREA)

LIB DEM (6)	CONSERVATIVE (4)	LABOUR (4)
S Awan R Battye Mrs M Bower C Iredale C Stanfield** L Wilkinson	T Brice D Firth D Lindley K Sims	P McBride A Smith * K Smith M Walton
A Woodhead		

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

<sup>\*\*</sup> Seat on Sub-Committee gifted by Green Party

#### **STANDARDS COMMITTEE**

Members 4

LIB DEM (1) CONSERVATIVE (1) LABOUR (1) GREEN PARTY (1)

K Oldroyd J Dodds \* D Hillas J Stewart Turner

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

## **APPEALS PANEL**

LIB DEM (5)	CONSERVATIVE (5)	LABOUR (4)	GREEN PARTY (1)
T Aslam	I Ameen	M Blanshard	S Fallows
M Bower	T Brice	D Hillas	
N Hussain	D Hall	M Sarwar	
A Raistrick	A Palfreeman	K Smith	
L Wilkinson	K Taylor *		

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### **OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY PANELS**

Members 30

<b>LIB DEM (11)</b>	CONSERVATIVE (	(10) LABOUR (8)	GREEN PARTY (1)

#### (i) Regeneration

K Oldroyd N Patrick\* J Calvert T Woodhead D M Firth P McBride

#### (ii) Children and Young People

A Raistrick K Iqbal M Blanshard\* C Stanfield E Smaje A Smith

#### (iii) Adults and Older People

S Awan D Yates M Akhtar Mrs M Bower D Lindley M Walton\*

#### (iv) Safer, Stronger Communities

N Hussain I Ameen\* M Sokhal J Stewart Turner

R Iredale Vacancy

#### (v) Corporate Affairs

T Aslam D Hall A Ellam\* S Fallows

G Beever J Dodds

<sup>\*</sup> Indicates Chair

## **AREA COMMITTEE - AGBRIGG**

## Members 9

# CONSERVATIVE (8) LABOUR (1)

M Bolt

M Blanshard

J Dodds

M Hemingway

A Murphy C Smith\*

K Taylor B Warby E Ward

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### AREA COMMITTEE - BATLEY AND BIRSTALL & BIRKENSHAW

Members 9

LIB DEM (2) CONSERVATIVE (3) LABOUR (4)

G Alvy R C Light M Akhtar
P Battye A E Palfreeman M Harkin
E Smaje H Mayet
S Pandor \*

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### **AREA COMMITTEE - DEWSBURY**

Members 9

LIB DEM (	4	CONSERVATIVE	(3	) LABOUR (2)
-----------	---	--------------	----	--------------

D Hullock I Ameen E Firth K Hussain K Iqbal P Kane N Hussain\* J Scott

A Oldroyd

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

## **AREA COMMITTEE - SPEN**

LIB DEM (4)	CONSERVATIVE (3)	LABOUR (1)	BNP (1)
T Aslam * A Pinnock K Pinnock A Raistrick	M Bates D Hall D Yates	D Sheard	D Exley

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

## **AREA COMMITTEE - HUDDERSFIELD NORTH**

LIB DEM (2)	CONSERVATIVE (1)	LABOUR (6)
C Stanfield A Woodhead	T Brice	J Calvert D Hillas* M Khan A Smith K Smith M Sokhal

#### **AREA COMMITTEE - HUDDERSFIELD SOUTH**

Members 12

LIB DEM (6)	LABOUR (3)	<b>GREEN PARTY (3)</b>
-------------	------------	------------------------

S Awan

R Battye \*

A Denham

J Smithson

A Ellam

A Cooper

S Fallows

M Walton

J Stewart Turner

M Sarwar

L Wilkinson

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

# **AREA COMMITTEE - VALLEYS**

LIB DEM (7)	CONSERVATIVE (4)	IND (1)
G Beever Mrs M Bower M Bower M Fearnley* C Iredale R Iredale A Marchington	D Firth D Lindley N Patrick K Sims	T Lyons

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### **BUSINESS MANAGERS SUB COMMITTEE**

Members 4

LIB DEM (1) CONSERVATIVE (1) LABOUR (1) GREEN PARTY (1)

P Battye\* M Hemingway E Firth J Stewart Turner

<sup>\*</sup> Chair